Let the Glue Battle Begin…

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brockrwood

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
Ok, it’s not really a battle. Glue-All and Aleene’s Tacky Glue for stuff that needs more working time to fiddle with and get into the correct position. Titebond II, Gorilla Wood Glue, or other “fast tack” wood glue for fins and other parts where you just want it to “grab” and stay in position so you don’t have to hold it in place while the glue sets.

3A2D187E-B6E2-4341-BFBB-73D0FB90FB73.jpeg

:questions: Gorilla Wood Glue is by no means a "fast tack" glue. I guess "fast" is relative though... as in "fast - compared to what?" :questions:

Titebond does make a "thickest, fastest-drying" glue though, but I have no experience with it. TITEBOND NO-RUN, NO-DRIP WOOD GLUE

I've never tried it since I want the initial gluing of two parts to proceed using a glue that isn't thick. I want it to be runny, so it seeps into cracks and crevices, instead of bridging.

Launch Lug Glue Fillet Wood Fibers.JPGLaunch Lug Glue Fillet 002.JPG001 Final Gorilla Glue Fillet.JPG002 Titebond Quick and Thick Wet.JPG003 Titebond Quick and Thick Dry.JPG005 After Primer and Paint.jpg

Last edited:
Fast compared to Glue-All and other, ordinary "white" glues.

Sure, Gorilla Wood Glue will "grab" when gluing items like couplings in a body tube, but in all the times I've used it for fins, as you initially stated, the word "grab" has never entered my mind.

... for fins and other parts where you just want it to “grab” and stay in position so you don’t have to hold it in place while the glue sets.

If you're after "grab" go with thick CA or Epoxy.

Sure, Gorilla Wood Glue will "grab" when gluing items like couplings in a body tube, but in all the times I've used it for fins, as you initially stated, the word "grab" has never entered my mind.