Laptop Suggestions

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GregGleason

Reaction score
I am in the market for a new laptop.

I have been happy with my HP Pavilion, but it is over 7 years old and is a bit long in the tooth.

What I am looking for is a CAD-capable (I run AutoCAD) laptop with a minimum 17" screen.

I would prefer a lit keyboard and a touchscreen, but they are not deal breakers.

I would like to keep it under $1,500 if possible. I would like to take advantage of a Black Friday deal, too.

Any thoughts of where to look?

Greg

Is a 17” screen really a lap-top? That was my first desktop monitor! Although that was back in the days of CRT. :)

I've had extensive experience using HP laptops and they're decent. Sufficient quality and a warranty that HP honors is a good way to describe HP laptops. Their older models tend to be better in terms of reliability, but I think that applies to many companies, especially Lenovo/IBM.

I haven't owned a Lenovo laptop in a while (my last model was from the 2010s), but when I had one, I was happy with their performance and reliability.

My last two field computers and the current desktop are all Lenovo and we've had pretty good luck with them (never mind that his is being typed on a new 14 inch M3 MacBook Pro...).

Lenovo has black Friday type sales (which is where I got my current take-it-to-the-field Thinkpad last year). They may be worth a look.

I pretty much only buy HP Zbooks now. We got them at work and they were great. I own 3 for my home business and 2 for personal use as well. The newest (personal) one is from 2016 and it still runs like a champ. I run AutoCAD, Solidworks and Inventor on the work machine (ok, I think that one was from 2018. . . ) and CorelCAD (Autocad clone) and Alibre on my personal machines with no issue.