Inverted piston deployment for large hybrid rocket

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yohiyoyo

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am a student part of my Universities Rocketry Team. We are building an SRAD hybrid for IREC 2019 this june, targetting 30k.

So far our recovery system is very underdeveloped, we are just coming to designing and building the main deployment system.

My question is regarding using pyrocutters and gravity to deploy the main vs using a piston to push the main out. Our industry advisor has recommended not relying on the nose cone to fall away when the line that keeps the main secured is cut. He recommended an inverted piston using CO2 or a charge to push the main out.

I am wondering if anyone has other thoughts about using one method over the other, and does anyone have any examples of an inverted piston design used on a larger rocket.

I have seen this webpage: https://www.deltavrocketry.com/piston.htm referenced a lot throughout old posts, but it seems to be down now. Does anyone know where I can find the information that lived here?

Thank you very much.

how about a picture of what you have.

So far, at first blush, you have described two recovery systems I don't use - how about using something conventional?

IMHO most of the unconventional college recovery systems haven't worked. I know, it's cool to do something hard, but when your goal is 30k everything else should be routine. Nothing more. Everything else is diverting attention from your goal and vastly increasing your chances of failure without any benefit.

how about a picture of what you have.

So far, at first blush, you have described two recovery systems I don't use - how about using something conventional?