How do you cut your TTW slots?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MoeFaux

Reaction score
I'm a noob working on my first MP scratch build. I spent a several hours yesterday just cutting my TTW slots, and I'm hoping the wisdom of the masses here can show me a better way.

The method that finally worked for me (after some trial and error) was this:

1 - mark fin locations on BT (38 mm in this case) using marking guide, extend lines.
2 - wrap paper around tube, transfer fin marks to paper.
3 - unwrap paper, lay flat, center a scrap piece of fin material to each fin mark, then trace edges to get proper slot width while trying *real* hard to hold the scrap bit steady.
4 - measure and mark fore and aft slot ends on paper.
5 - re-wrap paper to tube, aligning all marks.
6 - spend the next hour cutting along marks with hobby knife.

I'm pretty happy with the end result, but it was awfully time consuming for only 4 slots, and I'd really like more precision in my process.

What I found that works for me:

1). Print out the fin marking guide (I always model a rocket in OR first, then print from there) on regular printer paper.
2). Securely tape the fin guide to the paper tube.
3). Using a small metal ruler and a sharp hobby knife, trace the fin slot cut outs until you cut through the body tube.

This only works on paper/cardboard tubes.
For FG or CF ones, I make sure to buy them with pre-cut fin slots.

HTH,
a

4 fins are easier than 3
  1. wrap tube with a strip of paper, mark overlap (Work on the straight edge of the paper!)
  2. Fold in half, aligning end edge to overlap mark (this divides tube circumference in two)
  3. Fold again (2*2 = 4) 4 fins are easier than 3.. or use a fin marking guide for multiples, or use a calculator & basic circle geometry & Pi