Help needed with unstable rocket

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

delta1999

Reaction score
Hello to everyone! I'm fairly new to model rocketry and I recently made couple of homemade rockets from scratch. However when I launched them, every single one of them went crazy immediately after leaving the launch ramp. I used OpenRocket software to design the rockets and the program is telling me that the rocket should be stable. On the last launch (video uploaded as zip) the rocket had a static margin of 1,18cal. On the previous launch I even added some weight to the nose to move the CG and to separate it from the CP. The static margin was 1,83cal. Unfortunately I got the same result as in the last launch. Here's also a screenshot from open rocket design and some photos from the last rocket and I can provide additional information if needed. (NOTE: all the photos bellow are related to the launch shown on the video) Can anyone tell me what may be the possible problem?

Screenshot_2.png20220415_120745.jpg20220415_120833.jpg20220415_144703.jpg20220415_144727n.jpg

Attachments

• video of launch.zip
    8.1 MB · Views: 50
OpenRocket is only as good as the data you feed into it. Did you weigh the rocket’s components or otherwise get an idea of how accurate its CG calculation is?

If it’s not that, the only thing I can think of is rod/rail exit speed. What are your ground support equipment specs? What kind of condition is it in?

I’ll be sure to check out the video once I can get to my computer, I’ll need that to open the ZIP file.

OpenRocket is only as good as the data you feed into it. Did you weigh the rocket’s components or otherwise get an idea of how accurate its CG calculation is?

If it’s not that, the only thing I can think of is rod/rail exit speed. What are your ground support equipment specs? What kind of condition is it in?