Fin thickness

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wernher von Everall

Reaction score
Does anyone know whether 1.5mm carbon fibre sheet is thick enough for fins to survive big I/ low J motors? I really would like to avoid flutter and my rocket subsequently breaking into pieces!

Some details of rocket + launch:
- 2.6" airframe.
- Through the wall fins.
- Aiming for speeds of around Mach 1 - 1.2.
- Root cord 10cm, tip chord ~ 6cm and height around 8cm so not of particularly large surface area.

I am very new to working with this material so any help would be greatly appreciated!

Does anyone know whether 1.5mm carbon fibre sheet is thick enough for fins to survive big I/ low J motors? I really would like to avoid flutter and my rocket subsequently breaking into pieces!

Some details of rocket + launch:
- 2.6" airframe.
- Through the wall fins.
- Aiming for speeds of around Mach 1 - 1.2.
- Root cord 10cm, tip chord ~ 6cm and height around 8cm so not of particularly large surface area.

I am very new to working with this material so any help would be greatly appreciated!
are you making up the carbon fiber sheet or buying it as carbon fiber plate?
and your attaching them very straight..is important..
why not go a tad thicker?

Tony

are you making up the carbon fiber sheet or buying it as carbon fiber plate?
and your attaching them very straight..is important..
why not go a tad thicker?

Tony
Hi Tony,
I had previously bought some carbon fibre sheet of this thickness intended for a smaller rocket but never used it...
They are being attached straight.
Thanks for you help!
Everall

Hi Tony,
I had previously bought some carbon fibre sheet of this thickness intended for a smaller rocket but never used it...
They are being attached straight.
Thanks for you help!
Everall
It will probably be fine.