Fin Jigs; Do you use them?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Do you use a fin jig for your builds?

• Nope, I just eyeball em!

• Yes, a dedicated jig for fin alignment.

• Sometimes with a makeshift jig.

• Depends on the build.

Results are only viewable after voting.

stantonjtroy

Reaction score
I've always been curious as to how many folks jig their fins during a build. I've been building Mod Rocs since 1975, Mid Mower since 1987 and HP (currently hold a L2) since 1997 and I've never once used one. My fins always come out straight, rockets fly straight, unless I design them to spin. So how bout you good folks?

I made this one many moons ago, works great for smaller projects with surface mounted fins. If a tube has slots, or I'm cutting slots, TLAR works for me.

fin jig.jpg

I didn't use jigs before, but now that I have done it with a high-peformance bird with foam core board jigs, I'm going to do all my high-performance fins that way.

I always eye ball mine too, but I wouldn't mind haven't a jig...seems it would make the process quicker.

I glued up a couple of jigs made from balsa. I got the plans for them from apogeerockets.com (of course, I can't find the link on the site now...)

I have used the estes fin alignment jig in the past, but it always seemed to be a bit of a hassle.

I must say, that guillotine fin jig is tempting me.

Last edited:
I was looking at the guillotine very seriously. That's what made me wonder. Never have before but thought maybe there's something to it.

If you want to shell out the $100 plus with shipping then I say go for it!! It's a good quality device and if you don't have the tools to make something similar then I say buy it.