Estes Xtreme RockSim Design

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tooth

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
xtreme.jpg
Has anyone here created a Rocksim or OpenRocket file for the Estes Xtreme they would be willing to share? I’m VERY new to the software and don’t have much confidence in my own input. I’ve looked all over at the regular sources for the file but have come up empty so far.

My wife and I are starting the NARTREK certification program and wanted to use this kit for our streamer duration. Thought it would be wiseto use the program to fine tune engines and parachute requirements. Thanks for any help.

enjoy doing NARTREK! what a great variety of rrocket projects.

do you have an Xtreme kit already? if you can measure the parts we can put together a sim.

I really appreciate that. We're both excited to try the different build requirements, and more than a little afraid of some of them, lol.
We do have the kit, parts page attached:
xtreme.jpg
The body tube is 12" long, I measured it at 16mm outside diameter
The nosecone is plastic, 4 7/8" long from tip to where the shoulder starts
The fins are cardboard, root length 4 1/4", 1 3/8" at the widest point, that point is 3 1/4" back from the tip of the fin

I really appreciate you tackling this. I'm going to jump into Rocksim and try to build it too so I can learn, but it will be VERY reassuring to see someone else's file who actually knows what they are doing :)

If you’re interested in playing wit OpenRocket, you can open up the “simple model rocket” example and just tweak each part to your measurements. It’s an easy way to get started. Then post your file here and we’ll critique it. :)

oh gosh, this is literally the easiest design to model!

the airframe tube is called BT-20 size, it is 18.something mm diameter outside.

if you want to do it from scratch:

1. start Open Rocket, or Rocksim.