Different size tubes, centering rings...

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RocketSquirrel

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
Im very new to higher powered rocketry, i grew up building the simple estes kits. Estes has their way of measuring tubes, BT55 etc. Some tubes are measured by inches some us metric (wouldnt it be nice if everything was metric?) I purchased a large box of someone's old rocket equipment and he had tubes of all different thickness, widths... also couplers, bulkheads, thrust rings... lots of stuff! i have a digital measuring tool and try to see what is what, or what i need to buy to fit this and that. I see 29mm, 1.1"/1.1"(P)/ 1.1"(S).. so many different ways of describing its measurements. Is there a document that makes sense of all this? Like in a way a 5 year old could understand haha thanks!!!

Maybe this will help...
Thanks, im familiar with the estes tube system. Im getting into high level and it looks like i just to painstakingly verify every part i order will fit, hope i dont squeeze the calipers too tight or loose and get a false reading haha if i come up with a spreadsheet ill share it. I not only want tube sizes, but knowing what coupler/centering ring will go with what as well. Sort of a complicated question to ask! Thanka for the reply!

Thanks, im familiar with the estes tube system. Im getting into high level and it looks like i just to painstakingly verify every part i order will fit, hope i dont squeeze the calipers too tight or loose and get a false reading haha if i come up with a spreadsheet ill share it. I not only want tube sizes, but knowing what coupler/centering ring will go with what as well. Sort of a complicated question to ask! Thanka for the reply!
That's one of my frustrations. as well. The PML web site is *extremely* confusing, mixing inch and metric sizes.