CAD for desining rockets

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rocketeer123

Reaction score
Hello. I have a lot of experience designing rockets in open rocket. However, I want to move on to a CAD program like grab cad or solidworks for rockets. I plan to 3-D print some. What are the best programs, and would I still have to model them for stability and aerodynamics in open rocket? Thanks.

I use an old copy of Autodesk Inventor Pro. But yes, I first model and sim the rocket in Open Rocket, then build the solid model in Inventor.

When I start building the rocket I tweak the Open Rocket model based on the actual as built components.

During my career as a M.E. (1981 - Present) I've used both (Autocad) Inventor and Solidworks. They are both great programs. I just naturally gravitate toward Autodesk products because we both grew up together, so to speak.

X-Wing Alpha Rev 11 Sheet 7 of 13.jpgOpen Rocket Sim X-Wing on a D12.jpg
X-Wing 001.JPG

Last edited:
Autodesk's Fusion 3D is free for home & hobby use, although it is limited..

All the high end CAD systems do have a fairly steep learning curve, as there are concepts some find hard to grasp.

There are other 'hobby minded' ones out there, and some are free, TinkerCAD for one..

Pop over to the '3D printing' forum for more CAD talk..

The freeCad rocket module didn't seem all that good for designing things to be 3D printed.

I use Solidworks, I have a home use license for it yet. It's a great program, fairly intuitive. They've done away with home use licenses, but if you join the EAA you get a free student license for SW. EAA is a great organization too, and it beats $5k for a license.

I have not seen an NX in the pirate market. I have seen pirate SW around though.