BALLS Flights

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steve Shannon

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
Thank you to the hard working moderators!
I sensed that this discussion would take more than a few posts and asked for it to be forked into its own thread.

I think you make my point. For the flights you mentioned, it would probably have been possible to select a more appropriate lockout altitude, but because there was a lockout altitude, the sustainers were away from people when they lit. In those cases, the fact that the sustainers lit was less of a safety problem and more of a waiver problem (since there aren't many places, including Blackrock, where you can light a sustainer horizontally and stay within the waiver). Yes, use tilt too, but altitude is the first line of defense for safety.

A while back, I studied some flight data from FredT on his multi-staged flights. He sent data from quite a few flights, and I was impressed at how tightly he set his altitude criteria. As I recall, he had some cases where he had about a half second window. Based on his experience, I tightened up my criteria just a bit. It is entirely possible to do this - to set altitude criteria that ensures a reasonable flight (and that would prevent sustainers from lighting while arcing over).

Jim

That’s great information. I never would have expected such tight settings. And personally I think that extreme projects should have multiple methods to prevent off-vertical staging for both safety as well as waiver protection.

Last edited:
And personally I think that extreme projects should have multiple methods to prevent off-vertical staging for both safety as well as waiver protection.

If only we had multiple VALIDATED tools to use?

My understanding is currently there is only ONE unit in production and another one being developed.