Aerotech RMS J275W - Loose Grains Forward to Aft - This is not good right?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi Everyone, I didn't want to start a new thread if I could avoid it but I couldn't find a previous post discussing this. Maybe I'm too new at Forums and I am a new member so if this is in the wrong place, please let me know and I'll fix it :) Anyways I'm running into a problem, I think... and I'm looking for some advice/help. I'm new to High Power and I'm going for my L2 Cert soon - so this is the first RMS motor I've ever done. Because I'm a moron I'm doing minimum diameter on an AT J275. Wildman Mach 2. Should be exciting!!!

The issue that I'm running into is that the grains are loose end to end - like they are not tight against the forward and aft closures. The motor case is a 54/852 and I have the aero tech plugged front closure and the Aeropack boattail rear closure. I've made sure I'm following the instructions and also found a youtube video of this exact motor being assembled. The grains fit nice in the liner but it's almost like the liner is just a little bit too long which is causing the closures to bottom out before they are in contact with the grains. It feels like there's a good 1/8 - 3/16 of an inch play in there. If I turn the motor upside down and back I can feel the grains sliding back and forth. Is this a problem? It seems like it would be to me. Ha that rhymed.
Any help or advice would be so much appreciated.

Also, I'm pretty confiedent on this one but while I'm asking questions, I want to double check... Even though I am going Dual Deploy and have a plugged front closure I am still installing the delay grain - Just not the ejection charge. That's right, right?

Cheers to all of you!