How Do I Remove Fix-It Epoxy?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TZ250

Reaction score
Everyone,
This is my first post. I'm new to model rockets. I'm building my first kit, which is an Apogee Aspire. I plan to use G engines so I epoxied the fins on yesterday. By the time that I finished the fins, I'd learned a lot about using this epoxy.

I just noticed that one of the fins is crooked. The Fix-It epoxy is 1 day old. How do I remove it to reset the fin? Do I have to cut it off and sand the tube and fin?

Thanks in advance!

although I have never done it with a rocket, epoxy can be removed by heating it until it is soft and then blading it off. The tube can then have the traces sanded off. I have removed stray spots of epoxy by using a dremel.

Us model airplane guys use a monokote heat gun to warm up the epoxy(it crystalizes) and chip away at it.

Thanks guys! I had not thought of that. I have heat gun, somewhere...

I'll report back soon.

Thanks again!

Gillard, this Is a special type of epoxy, epoxy clay, not the semi-liquid epoxy that you have to mix in containers. Well,first things first, why did you use epoxy? On Wood-paper bonds, wood glue is the best, if you use it correctly, the meterial will break before the joint will give. Well to remove the stuff, take A little bit of warn water and rub the fillet a little bit, it will sofen the epoxy, then use a heat gun, and that will finish the job.

Thanks guys! I had not thought of that. I have heat gun, somewhere...

I'll report back soon.

Thanks again!

Take care not to over heat as epoxy gives off nasty fumes if heated too much.

I don't know if heating Fix-it will work since its clay like epoxy not like the normal stuff.But you never know it could work.

I don't know if heating Fix-it will work since its clay like epoxy not like the normal stuff.But you never know it could work.