Ejection Charges/Black Powder/LEUP

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fish701

Reaction score
I'm new on this forum, so please forgive me if this has been discussed previously. I searched and could not find anything on here. I have my Level 1 cert, and have had it for a couple years now. I have never done a dual deployment rocket and have always had to go chase my rocket for quite some distance. This year I was hoping to be adventurous in the rocket design, and construction, as opposed to the rocket chasing.

If I want to purchase, store, carry black powder with me for ejection charges, is it require to have a LEUP? I live in Connecticut, and I can not find any information regarding state laws regulating the storage and purchase of BP. I'm a college student and usually only have the time and money to go to one launch a year (NERRF in NY). I have no close ties with any clubs in the area so I don't have many people to ask.

Your help and advice is appreciated!

Well, if you only go to NERF I'd send them email and I'm sure somebody will help out.

Aerotech also sells "ejection charge kits" on their https://valuerockets.com/product_details.aspx?pid=14&itemid=67 site.

But, yes, I believe it is true that you need a LEUP to legally possess black powder for rocketry. Although there seems to be some debate in the community that the "sporting use" mentioned in the exemption can be applied to rocketry. The typical advice is to talk to the club you fly with and follow their procedures.

Your help and advice is appreciated!

This is a "question" that gets the shriv's all fired up.... pun intended.