Which language should i use for rocket simulator?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

deepfreeze

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
Hello guys i am building a rocket and i also coded a simulator so i can get the data in real-time when i am connected to the teensy 4.0.
I coded it in python but i dont think it is really working as smooth as i think.

I have 2 simulators, one is just a pygame screen. It is working but it can't be more than that. But i am an obsessive programmer and play with my code all the time to make it better.
second is on the tkinter window and couple plots in it. But this is not working as smooth as i would want.

Is there anything you can suggest on this matter? I can code in any language that's fine.

Attachments

• WhatsApp Video 2022-12-26 at 15.05.40.mp4
    1.8 MB
  • WhatsApp Video 2022-12-26 at 15.05.27 (1).mp4
    1.6 MB
As others have said, complied c is fast but I personally prefer to work in Python as long as I can get away with it.

Assuming that you're reading the data in via serial/UART, I'd first ask if the data ingest is being done efficiently or if that is a part of the problem. There are a lot of really bad patterns that can be used for UART reading and only a few good ones.

If that's not the bottleneck, I'd start to look at the display/GUI. Do you need/want a GUI or just real-time plots? Do you need to recalculate the plots limits each time you update or less regularly?

Depends upon your update rates and end goals but I'd be surprised if you couldn't get acceptable results in Python. If you want to post your code or a send Github link, I'll be happy to take a look.

As others have said, complied c is fast but I personally prefer to work in Python as long as I can get away with it.