Using DeOxit on Controller Clips And Battery Terminals

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ArthurAstroCam

Reaction score
Have been using this since my first launch, and have had great cold weather results. Does anyone else use DeOxit on their igniter clips, and battery terminals?

DeOxit is very nearly a miracle product. It has solved problems for me time and time again.

Not sure if it'll help much with exhaust corrosion on igniter clips? (I'm not sure anything other than scraping/sanding works, TBH)

As a musician, i use it all the time and it's worked very well. BUT, I have a Mazda MX5 with a Ford Fusion motor in it. The connector to the ecu had been causing problems with a check sum error. I cleaned the terminals with deoxit and for a few days it worked as it should, but then back to the error code. I tried CRC electrical cleaner and haven't had a problem since. Go figure!! I have a little "launch" pouch that I carry out to the pad that has a small sanding stick that I quickly hit the clips with, just in case. I also swipe the clips together to see if their shorted...just in case!

I don't think the Caig stuff is water displacing whereas some of the others mentioned here might be? That might make a difference in a repair scenario with moisture involved.

(I'm remembering the time my Audi leaked and drowned some control box under the passenger seat, what a mess)

I don't think the Caig stuff is water displacing whereas some of the others mentioned here might be? That might make a difference in a repair scenario with moisture involved.

(I'm remembering the time my Audi leaked and drowned some control box under the passenger seat, what a mess)