Upscale Gyroc With A Twist

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gary Byrum

Overstable By Design
Reaction score
I guess it all depends on your mood but lately I have been up scaling some kit designs and this is another in that league. I have never built an Estes Gyroc before and I have some new angles I hadn't seen in other build threads. Maybe it will answer a few of the questions asked about them darn hinges! We'll get to that later.

First off, I am going with an airframe BT 55 and a 24mm rear ejection motor mount with it's own streamers. There's good reason for this too. Pictured below is the airframe, motor mount with 3 fiber centering rings, a 50/55 bulk CR (which is going to be the motor mount block) The block of balsa wood in the clamps will be the nose cone. I glue hard cardboard to both sides to secure the wood in the lathe so it doesn't chew up the wood. Just ignore that down scale Cricket/up scale Swift...take your pick. It's not important. That motor mount block was hollowed out a bit on the inside to allow the motor mount to pass through easily but block the MM from any forward access, Everything fits like a glove with a very small recess of the aft ring barely inside the airframe.

DSCF3154.jpg

Next is the raw cut of the fins. Those got sanded to conform with each other. Later afterwards they got their share of sanding sealer on one side.

DSCF3157.jpg

That block of balsa in the clamps? Looks like this now and is drying as we speak with sanding sealer. I call it a BNC 55B in honor of it's lil brother the BNC 20B.

DSCF3160.jpg