Rocket flight physics

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
First of all, nice page, nice graphics----you seem to have a pretty good discussion of the main factors. Then again, I am an engineer and I am kinda used to these eqns; you might need to include some baby steps (see below).

You might add that you are assuming that the rocket flies straight up as a simplifying step, and that there is no wobble from instability.

Picking a nit: is the average thrust of the motor 0.8N or is that the "simplified" value of the sustaining thrust? Calculatn of the average is going to involve integration of the area under the curve, which will be way above the heads of many readers. I use a trapezoidal representation of the time-thrust curve with about 100+ time slices (I use shorter time intervals for each step during the initial thrust peak; spreadsheets are your friend) and generally get within 1% of the advertised impulse values. You may want to mention that the start-up thrust does not count until the motor gets beyond a certain point on the curve (5% of max thrust? --not sure on that one)

On your plot of inflight forces, what are the red, blue, and green lines for? You need to step the readers through all the steps of the process.

In your calculations, it could be helpful to the "average guy" to see on the page some actual numbers put into the equatns you start with, and how to convert them to the correct units of measure for input. Again, baby steps.

Or maybe not. I have a tendency to over-explain things (I am a firm believer that a very large part of the average audience is too embarrassed to ask questns).

Last edited:
On your plot of inflight forces, what are the red, blue, and green lines for? You need to step the readers through all the steps of the process.