Need help with spool rocket idea

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ljwilley

I’m pretty sure it will work…
Reaction score
I want to build a HPR spool rocket, and I thought that maybe I could use some empty 3d printing spools for the upper and lower rings. Just wanted to ask if anyone sees anything wrong with the idea, as I am new to spool rockets.

Thanks in advance!

I'm not sure what you mean by that? There's usually just one spool, even if it's built up from separate parts, two discs and a tube. I'm no expert on this, but a filament spool seems pretty small for an HPR spool; I'm sure you could stick an 18 or 24 mm MMT in one and fly it LPR.

See I told you I have no experience with spool rockets. The 3d printing filament spools are too heavy for 18mm-- maybe 24 or 29mm. The spools are also too short to use only one. I was planning to put one on each end and a tube in the middle. Thanks anyway.

How heavy are the spools? Something like a Q-Jet 18 mm D16 or D20 could lift a decent amount, I should think. Anyway, if a 24 mm fits then that gives you lots of options.

The beautiful thing about spool rockets is their simplicity. Just shove an engine into the hole*, figure out something for recovery, and off you go.

* Get your minds out of the gutter, people.

Each spool is 250 grams. I am also planning on 3d printing some parts to adapt the spools to the body tube. (they aren't the perfect size) And there also will be a tube, and a motor mount. The motor mount is because the tube that fits in the spools is 38mm and now that I think about it I don't really want to do high power rocket motors on it.