My Scratch MPR Crashed First Flight ) :

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

[POW]Eagle159

Reaction score
So I got out to launch in the morning, It was a calm day, but up 200 feet, there was moderate winds, I only flew 5 out of 8 rochets, with 1 crash and 1 MIA.

So here is the crash, it lawn darted from about 400 feet. This was my first Mid-Powered flight(other than my Saturn V), on an At E20-4w.

The take off was nice! and the ejection was a tad late, it was still pointing upwards but falling backwards.

Then the ejection charge went off...... The nose cone went shooting off annnnd kept on going. I attached the shock cord around the eyelet, but that failed.
Sense I am new to MPR, I thought my 24" estes Saturn V chute would be a good choice. Nope, poor chute had no chance, the shroud lines all ripped from the plastic and the rest of the chute floated away never to be seen again.

And then the inevitable lawn dart happened, The LOC 3in. tube didnt get damaged at all, no paint was hurt, But the tube stuck in the field 5 inches. The nose cone tumbled down and made a nice tip first landing. It did whistle a bit on the way down....

I do/dont know what went wrong after learning what happened from the crash site. I know now the attachment to the nose cone was weak and the plastic estes chute was WAY to weak.

I had 12 feet of kevlar shock cord, is that too short? It seemed like it. I still dont know if Im going to re-fly it or keep it grounded...
ALSO, I used cardboard centering rings, one rear, one above fin tabs and one at the front of the stuffer tube, when I looked down the tube the forward centering ring is gone! Did it get blown out?!? If so HOW? The card stock centering rings om my estes Saturn V survived 2 E20 flights and they were thinner!

Any input on my build/flight, any questions/comments? Thanks for reading.

rocktet 053.jpg