My first scratch built and flight...

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bohica

Reaction score
I recently ordered some steel rod for my business and it came in 14" thick wall packing tubes. The OD of the tubes is 28mm and the ID is 26mm. The tubes sat around my office for a day or two just begging to be turned into "something".

I have been building kit rockets off and on for 25 years and of course I have modified existing kits and experimented...but I never really sat down to build a rocket out of bits and pieces.

I decided it was time.

I did a test fit with a D12-7 motor I had laying around and noted that all that would be required to friction fit the motor with minimal effort (experiment remember) would be a couple winds of electrical tape.

I measured it out and fitted the motor with 10mm protruding.

I then sliced a small hole through both sides of the fuselage and slid a large paperclip through and bent the ends flush. This would keep the motor in place during "boost".

For fins I downloaded a page of Estes fin patterns from a post here at "The Rocketry Forum". I chose the "clipped delta" pattern.

I cut the fins out of sheet balsa and took some time sanding them to perfection.

I then glued and filleted them into place (3 fins).

I took a 4" "launch lug" (ultralight aluminum tubing) and glued/filleted it into place next.

Next came a trip to China world...I mean Wal Mart for shock cord. Yep...crafts dept. .88 cents later...

I made my version of an Estes mount using bond paper and 36" of the elastic.

For a nose cone...I was baffled until I noticed the little red caps that came on the tubes! I placed a small eyelet through one cap and then filled it with epoxy. I then glued the 2 caps togethor. Perfect nose cone! Blunt but fine for this first experiment...

The recovery system consisted of an 18" Estes chute.