Level 1 Build Thread - name pending

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Clusterphiliac

Reaction score
Not really sure what to say as an introduction, but here's my Level 1 Certification build. As a bit of personal background, I've been building rockets since I was twelve, but now I'm finally making the leap to high power. I'm a college sophomore, building this with my school's rocketry club.

The rocket, like most cert builds, is a fairly standard 3FNC. It's 3" diameter and 54.5" tall (not counting about 3/8" of overhanging motor retainer), with a 38mm motor mount. The thing was first designed several years ago, but has gone through a few iterations before I actually ordered parts.

fh56oha.png

The design - not every component shown.

The airframe and motor mount are standard LOC cardboard tubing, but the coupler is blue tube, which should be a bit stiffer. The fins, bulkheads, and main centering rings are 1/4" plywood, and some minor components are 1/8".

Now, this rocket has a few unusual features. First, the avionics bay is built into the nose cone, and is a "sledless" design. There are three small bays: a pair of 29mm bays sized to accomodate a Raven 3 in a Featherweight 29mm Avbay kit, and a longer BT-60 sized bay in the front for any radio, GPS, or acoustic tracking devices that might be installed. It is dual-deploy; the apogee charge ejects the parachute and nose cone, and the main charge is located in an Archetype Rocketry Cable Cutter. In flight, the airframe never actually separates in the middle; the upper airframe is connected with Apogee's removable rivets. Technically it isn't zipper-proof, but the only part that could ever zipper is the upper airframe, which is very easy to replace.

Now, on to the build.

HKV10JX.png