How much sandpaper do you use?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

poke44

Reaction score
I am new to sanding and at least seem to use lots of sandpaper. Just now I sanded a Big dady and a Tomahawk D and it used up one 8x11 sheet of 320 paper.

Also my local Lowes stopped carrying 400 grit and now carry 320. Though the ace hardware across town has some all the way up to 1500 grit. Is 320 smooth enough for finishing if i am not worried about about being a showroom model rocket :)

I go thru plenty. I try to buy the 12 or 20 packs of several grits. I use 100, 220, 400, and even higher if I need to get scratches out of plastic, or want to really smooth my primer coat prior to painting. I have not seen 320 in awhile, but I'd add that to my supply, too.

Invest in a pair of "sandpaper only" scissors to cut up the sheets. I will cut a sheet into a variety of sizes, depending on the job.

I have also used 80 grit if I am taking off a lot of balsa. For example, I had a balsa nose cone that I wanted to flatten on one side. I was making a cone for a fighter-style rocket, and giving the cone a unique profile. After the rough size, I switched to 100, then 220, and so on.

If you have a Harbor Freight nearby, they sell packs of sandpaper pretty cheap. I actually prefer the Norton brand at Home Depot, and I'm sure whatever Lowe's has is similar in quality and price.

I use 100, 220, 340, 400, 600, 800, & 1500 for all sorts of different applications. I tend to lean towards 3M who has a style that doesn't clog and seems to last forever.

I also invested in Great Planes (r/c aircraft) sanding bars. Worth their weight in gold, as they don't bend and cover large areas. They also have a bar that has various angles and is awesome for doing leading and trailing edges on fins.