HiFlyer XL Shock Cord Alternative

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I was looking for a shock cord alternative as the mid power engine and heavier rocket make me uneasy with the Estes glued paper method. I was working on a bracket design that allows for easy shock cord replacement and think I have a good design but wanted to see other's thoughts as I am still very new to the rocketry world.

Any thoughts on this design? I mostly saw designs that attach to the motor mount in some way. This is suspended in a lower but similar section as the paper mount. it is chamfered on the bottom to prevent any turbulence from the ejection charge or hang up of wading, etc. It has two channels for use if no breaks or potential for a centered parachute line/dual parachute lines.

Attachments

• IMG_0803.jpg
    IMG_0803.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0802.jpg
    IMG_0802.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 0
I have done something very similar with the motor block in a BT-20 MD rocket and 100-lb Kevlar. Works great.

I would not place it in the path of the wadding. If the wadding has a tight enough fit in the tube to do its job, it will hang up on that ring. The ring needs to be below the wadding. You might even put a bar across the middle to support the wadding, acting as a "laundry shelf."

Looks viable, though attaching a Kevlar “leader” to the engine mount centering rings is fairly straightforward, you can even use a thin tube as a pass through (the typical source is the hollow plastic “stick” from a higher end cotton swab) with the attachment at the aft end of the mount so the Kevlar can be replaced as needed. Your printed ring looks workable as well and with a bit of dexterity the Kevlar could be replaced.