Hi from North Texas

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm a retired engineer that was heavily into Estes back in the 70's with school friends, then got back into low power rockets again in the 90's with extended family, and just ordered a pair of Baby Berthas and accessories so that I can teach my grandson how to build and fly. I have a kit from the 90's for my level one cert, sitting on the shelf in the shop but have not gotten around to it yet. lol

Found the forum while looking up schematics for launch controllers.

Travis

Hey Travis, welcome to the forum! Seams like your going about launching your self with building controller which is cool. If you're ever interested in joining a local launch there are several groups in the area. DARS is probably your closest. If you're willing to drive 2-3hr there are several options including TNT, AARG, Tripoli Houston. All really great people to fly with!

www.dars.org

Normally launching the third Saturday of the month in Gunter, but launching tomorrow since weather is supposed to be better. First Sunday of the month in Arlington (D and less)

Chas

Just now seeing all these responses. I need to check my notification settings for this forum. I appreciate all the welcomes!
www.dars.org

Normally launching the third Saturday of the month in Gunter, but launching tomorrow since weather is supposed to be better. First Sunday of the month in Arlington (D and less)

Chas
I hope to get all three grandsons out to a Gunter Launch sometime this summer, just so they can see what is is really all about. Maybe even an Arlington Sunday.
Welcome back to the party @Travis NTexas ! Which kit from the 90’s ? FYI rail buttons are preferable to the quarter inch lugs that the kit probably has. One fine Texas source is https://buyrocketmotors.com/
They’ll have your L1 motor too, when you’re ready. 🙂