G-Force Build Question

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

homebrew_58

Reaction score
Just started building an AT G-Force. I left the thrust ring and motor hook out to give me more motor options. This had led me down a path of doing a couple of things I've never done before... fiberglassing and using Kaplow Klip style motor retention.
First question... do you think I need to fiberglass the fins if I may be using motors larger than G? And is this a skill I should be trying out on a rocket like this or should I practice elswhere first?
Second... the rear centering ring is about three inches into the rocket body. If I install the Kaplow Klips there, will it be a hassle getting to them? Or should I install another centering ring closer to the end of the mmt?

Thanks in advance,
Kevin

I have used 2 methods to connect motor retention clips.

The first is the more normal approach using either T-Nuts or inset bolts. (I don't know the real name of the latter but they are a female threaded tubes with teeth around the circumference.) This approach usually requires a CR near the end of the rocket, but you can also use long bolts with some sort of stanadoff that is sized to fit between the CR and a point that is flush with the end of the motor. This will keep the Kaplow Klip or equivalent in position. A piece of brass or aluminium tubing works well as a standoff.

The other method is to glue bolts into the CR itself, and use wing nuts to connnect the clips. If the ring is inset like yours, it would be best to use standoffs with this approach, although I have done without them. If standoffs aren't used the clip will not end up flush with the engine, but will end up at an angle as the wing nut is tightened below the plane of the engine. This will work with most clips but may not work with all shapes.

(Geesh, that sounds confusing...but it really isn't)