Foam Board

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

timb

Reaction score
Hello,

I have a set of plans for an electric powered F22 that I would like to build as a companion model to my Dynasoar F22, problem is I'm sort of stuck over what material to build it out of. I'm new to foam board so I'm looking for some advice and practical experience.

RCDepron is listing only 3mm Depron in two sizes (for US purchasers), and what I need would be pretty pricey but then I would have enough to make a fleet of planes - even if I laminated two or three layers together to get a six or nine mm equiv. Seems a little extravagant. So I'm searching for alternatives before I take a plunge like that.

What are you guys using? There's some talk of very inexpensive foam board with paper laminated to both sides - do you peel off the paper? Does it peel easily or do you need to soak it off? Is there something better available?

If you're looking for thicker foam, check at big-box home improvement stores for something like this to see if it might do. Lowes, Home Depot, Menards all carry half-inch-thick sheets for about US$15. It may or may not be rigid enough.

This is extruded styrene foam, not "beadboard".

Hello,

I have a set of plans for an electric powered F22 that I would like to build as a companion model to my Dynasoar F22, problem is I'm sort of stuck over what material to build it out of. I'm new to foam board so I'm looking for some advice and practical experience.

RCDepron is listing only 3mm Depron in two sizes (for US purchasers), and what I need would be pretty pricey but then I would have enough to make a fleet of planes - even if I laminated two or three layers together to get a six or nine mm equiv. Seems a little extravagant. So I'm searching for alternatives before I take a plunge like that.