Estes Corvette Class Build Questions

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wrightme43

It's much later than it seems.
TRF Supporter
Reaction score
Hello, this is my first intermediate class rocket build. I am a accomplished woodworker, but have been out of rockets since I was very young. I have built alpha's, vikings, sxt, generic e2x, a amazon, and a baby bertha.
I recently learned about apogee have been reading and reading, found this forum, and bluesrocks.

So long story short, I of course could not resist the aspire, and read about how to build to attempt to break the sound barrier. Then of course I read about mid power and high power builds on here and other places.

For this corvette class, I grain filled the balsa with diluted timbermate real wood filler, sanded to smooth, cut out squared edges and glued each three piece compound fin together with titebond 3 and a drop of thick super glue. They are between wax paper under very heavy books curing now.

I want to take them to work in the morning and photocopy them, cut out the paper copies and glue them over the balsa like a veneer or lamination to provide strength and smoothness.

Is this a terrible idea? Is there anything I should know or be prepared for? Any advice?

I planned to do the lamination, and I have a vacuum veneering press if needed, but I dont think it will be needed. I planned on slighty oversized paper wrap after thin super glue on the edge and end grain.

I also filled the spirals on the tube with thinned timbermate.

Motor mount is built.

I ordered a nylon parachute from apogee as well.

I am trying to use this rocket to learn building techniques for the aspire.

Thank you for any advice you can offer.

Steve