Eggfinder Problem

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rjenkins133

Reaction score
I'm looking for guidance for a problem I encountered during yesterdays NOTRA launch. I am relatively new to GPS tracking. Hopefully someone on this forum has more experience and can provide guidance.

I have an eggfinder rx with bluetooth, and the eggfinder TX mounted in a nosecone with no metal anywhere around it. I use the rocket locator app on my phone.

The rocket launched fine and landed in a medium tall soy bean field. no problem, my phone showed the location of the rocket out in the middle of the bean field - perhaps 1500 feet away.

I walked towards it and eventually walked up to the position of the red locator on the Rocket Locator app screen - but - no rocket anywhere around (the altimeter was beeping and I would have heard it if it was nearby). When we did find the rocket it was about 300 - 400 feet north of the locator marked position. I kept checking the RX led on the receiver and I was receiving an active signal from the transmitter - but the location was just wrong.

I have two hypothesis:

1. the phone GPS location was wrong - the app shows the blue tolerance circle around the current phone position. sometimes it would grow very large but it was very small when standing right where the rocket position was marked.

2. the rocket GPS location was wrong - the app does not show any uncertainty area around the marked position of the rocket.

Are there any other possible issues that would cause this behavior?

What is the tolerance area for the GPS module in the Eggfinder TX? Is this data available?

Thanks,
Randy