Damn Thing Almost Landed On My Head.....

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
While I agree that Youtube is most convenient by far (and I suggest it for all folks asking how to post video), why is downloading a video file and playing it any sort of a problem?
Probably ignorance on my part. When I watch YouTube or Vimeo, am I actually downloading something or just “watching it”?

formally clicking “download file” to my drive or computer sounds a lot more risky.

Dammit, Jim, I'm a DOCTOR, Not a miracle worker.... My first ever YouTube Post

We had a saying at the Academy, “If the minimum wasn’t good enough, it wouldn’t be the minimum.”

popular among my classmates, less so our commanding officers.........,

well done, @PayLoad

Probably ignorance on my part. When I watch YouTube or Vimeo, am I actually downloading something or just “watching it”?
You are not downloading something.

formally clicking “download file” to my drive or computer sounds a lot more risky.
Fair enough, although I'm not aware of much risk in downloading an MP4 file.

probably true, but a computer virus could be disguised as a video file well enough that some users like me :dontknow:might not recognize them as such

there is no program out there that I cannot easily and with absolutely zero effort or intention screw up.

It's a matter of degree. Download nothing from any unknown source: usually good advice, if not always. Download nothing ever: overly restrictive. Sort of like never leaving the house because you might be hit by a car (or falling rocket).
We had a saying at the Academy, “If the minimum wasn’t good enough, it wouldn’t be the minimum.”
Damn right! I am so sick and tired of hearing "'Good enough' isn't good enough."