Createx Paint Question

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GrossApproximator

Reaction score
Hi all. Here's a question for those of you who use Createx paints: Can I mix a pearlized color with transparent black to make the pearlized color darker? Also, can I mix some of my pearlescent powder into transparent createx paints to make them pearlized?

Hi all. Here's a question for those of you who use Createx paints: Can I mix a pearlized color with transparent black to make the pearlized color darker? Also, can I mix some of my pearlescent powder into transparent createx paints to make them pearlized?

For the record, I'm still a novice with airbrushing and the Createx paints. But I've used a bunch of Createx Auto Air and Wicked Colors and think I can give some useful answers:

Mixing pearl + black: yes, it will make them darker, but be careful not to get to a muddy color. Usually, you are better off getting a darker base color and mixing them in. So, if you have a nice pearl lime green (W305, say), and wanted to make it darker, you could add in some W059 detail moss green, or W009 Pthalo green. Adding black instead will darken it, but not make it greener. You could also lay the black down as a base coat and put the green over it. Try it on some cardboard.

I use as blanks the white-finished cardstock that is in the soda 24 packs, between the two layers of 12 cans. It mimics a white-primed surface very well.

You can mix you powder into transparent paints to get them to be pearlized. Or you can buy the hot rod sparkle or alumunim flek colors. I've got each and they mix in fine. I've had success mixing some of the wicked and auto-air colors like this. And check out the color chart here:

https://www.tcpglobal.com/createx/pdf/Wicked Colors 2012 Color Chart.pdf

Good luck. Post some results!

Marc