Black Powder vs. CO2 system: when & where?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dr wogz

Fly caster
Reaction score
A few questions on some unfamiliar tech: CO2 systems.

I've recently just read a few student reports; Spaceport type launches. And a lot are using a CO2 system instead of the tried & true Black powder charge. Some have stated that BP is unreliable at 10K feet. Is this true?

Are there advantages to a CO2 system over BP & e-match? Disadvantages?

To me, they seem overkill [for a 10Kfeet flight], as I've never really seen one in action.

I have no experience with these, and want to know more..

BP "should" be reliable at 10Kft without confinement. Above that, or maybe above 15Kft you'd want to start confining it so it's within something close to 1atm when you ignite it for reliable ignition. Lots of discussion on this topic in the past.
CO2 systems should theoretically work better the higher up you deploy as the pressure differential between ambient and internal is increased.

TP

Remember to consider the ground elevation when deciding if BP needs to be contained. Spaceport America (and other NM and SW launch sites) are at about 4000-5000ft. A 10K AGL flight sees 15K MSL.

There are threads here that discuss high-altitude use of BP and the various ways of containing it. CO2 is more expensive to get started with, but somewhat less tricky.

For me CO2 systems are nice because the laundry doesn't get scorched and the airframes dont have much if any powder residue on them. As for altitudes, I have never flown high enough...yet...to worry about it, but my Rousetech CDD3 systems have specific instructions for above 20k flights and how to prep the actuator.

Love how these teams go down a rabbit hole based on hearsay.............

Well, that's exactly why I ask!