ANOTHER MEDICAL MYTH BITES THE DUST

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bobkrech

Reaction score
For the last several years many "Health Gurus" have argued that high fructose consumption was the reason why the incidence of Type 2 diabetes has increased in the general population. As a chemist I often chuckle at these pseudo-medical reports that have no basis in fact or documented research to back them up. This recently published study debunks the myth and reports that a clinical study found no correlation with the type of sugar consumed in equal amounts and the onset of Type 2 diabetes. The author says he believes that overconsumption, rather than a type of sugar, is one of the leading causes of obesity. "Overall, it's not about swapping fructose with glucose. Overeating, portion size and calories are what we should be refocusing on – they're our biggest problems."

So don't be concerned about eating fruit and foodstuff with high fructose corn syrup. It won't hurt you. Just don't overeat and watch your calories, and you can use all that extra fructose for rocket fuel. :wink:

Bob

The corn abuse industry has spent a fortune trying to state the same thing thru a disinformation campaign which has contributed to the fact I no longer subscribe to cable. And methinks they doth protest too much.:facepalm:

I have argues this for years. There is no scientific basis behind the lobby against HFCS. Although I will argue against the corn industry, it is not for this. I just can't see support the industry with government subsidies.

Being a type 1 diabetic, which is a very different disease than type 2, I have often been asked "did you eat a lot of sugar as a child", this has also made me chuckle. However this is public perception/ignorance, which likely stems from these pseudo-medical reports.