Another ACME Spitfire build thread?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blast it Tom!

Well-Known Dweeb
TRF Supporter
Reaction score
I'm doing this timidly. I've never done a build thread before, and this rocket has been built so beautifully by so many... but I'll try.
Like @Mushtang I won't deviate from the instructions ONE IOTA!!! Err.. uhhh. Except I already bought an AeroPack screw-on motor retainer, so there goes the engine hook. And I'm waiting for an answer about the engine block when using non-Estes motors, so carefully watching the instructions I can start at step 4. You have to carefully cut these out as the top of one matches the bottom of the other so your tube segments will meet:
20230917_162758.jpg

So when you're using a metal straightedge and a razor knife, you can make the straight cuts all at once.
20230917_164433.jpg

For the curvy ones, though, I'll just get my wife's best sewing scissors... OW! STOP IT SWEETIE, I WAS JUST KIDDING! OW!! OW!!!

(Tom will be back after he's recovered from his concussion.)

She forgot that, being Irish, I have a particularly thick skull.

Anyway, when you get the tube wraps cut out, they should nest together very nicely like this:
20230917_173123.jpg

I actually did have to take a break cutting those curves, as I wanted to be as precise as possible with those lines. What you're doing here is cutting out what will be matching ellipses, i.e an angle cut on a circular tube. But then you'll rotate the matching tube sections 180° to make the famous profile.

It's kind of amazing how precise you have to be to make a crooked rocket!

I didn't know how tight these wraps might be, but good ol' @jflis has this dialed right in. I had to ease the tube into the wrap carefully and lightly - very lightly - tap it down to the bottom:
20230917_175600.jpg