Procedure for attaching fins?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mushtang

Premium Member
TRF Supporter
Reaction score
I'm very new to model rocket building, having built two rockets and currently on my 3rd.

The first rocket was a beginners and the fins were plastic that snapped in place. Easy to do and the fins wouldn't fall off.

The second one had balsa fins that glued on. It took a long time to get them stuck on but I was going slow and being super careful. The fins were just cut out of the balsa sheet and glued on. No sanding or filling at all.

Yesterday on the newest rocket I sanded the fins and sealed them with wood filler, and sanded again. I was careful to leave the glue edge free of filler.

Last night I was trying to glue on all 4 fins and still thought I was taking my time and going slow, but apparently I was going too fast because a couple of the fins kept falling off. The glue wouldn't set enough and turning the rocket and putting pressure on another fin to glue it on would pop one off.

Is there an easier method other than putting on glue, holding the fin to the tube for 15 minutes, and then letting it sit for an hour before moving on to the next fin?

The best way to attach fins - in my opinion - is to use yellow wood glue and the "double glue" method. This is how I do it:

Take a fin and put a bead of glue on the root, smooth it out with a finger so it completely covers the area.

Touch the gluey fin to the body tube to transfer some glue to the body tube. There should be a little glue on the body tube for the entire length of the fin root. Not a whole lot, just enough.

Use a finger to remove the excess glue from the fin so there is just a small film of glue on the fin.

Set it aside and repeat on the other fins. Or if you are just trying it out, don't repeat so you know what to expect.