Monocote

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Weekends

Reaction score
I just recieved my PML AMRAAM 3. The detail scheming calls for several stripes of metalic colors along the body. The main body is gray. I am going to paint the main body with Krylon Gray. I was thinking about using monocote for the stripes. There are six stripes in four different colors. The striping ranges from .75" to 3.75" in thickness.

I have never used monocote before. Any ideas if this is a good choice for the striping? Will it apply easily over a painted surface? Any input or alternative ideas would be great.

Thanks,
Weekends

:D Yeppers you can do it. I put monocote on my buddy's Lv2 rocket for him. He has had no problems with it at all. Get the trim sheets, then you can cut the stripes down to however thick or thin you need. The trim sheets has a backing that you simply peel off, then apply to the rocket. If you get any bubbles in it and more than likely you will, just take a straight pin and poke them, smooth out, poke, smooth...you get the idea. I don't think you really need to use a iron on them, but I did on my friends.

If ya need any ideas/help, or have more questions give me a email, I'll be more than happy to help!
:p

Crashin J

Jerry Felts
[email protected]

I have both a PML AMRAAM3 and an AMRAAM 4 and I used Monokote trim sheets to do the striping on both of them. It works very well.