Tube prep before painting

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

phoeg

Reaction score
Hello all -

I'm a newbie to all this. returning to rocketry after about...38-40 years.

I am working on the classic "Big Bertha" and so far so good. After a lot of searching the forums I found plans for a simple fin alignment jig - a version of which I built this morning in under an hour from parts I had on hand. The next steps are to seal/sand the fins and tube, attach the fins, then paint.

After two days of searching the forums for various topics I've lost the bubble. Please forgive me that I couldn't find the answer in one of the other posts. Very simply: after I fill and smooth the tube spirals (carefully sanding so as not to sand through the--is it "glassine"?--finish on the tube) then prime and sand using very fine grades, should I sand through any primer (to the tube) where the fins will attach to allow good adhesion of the fins to the tube? I thought about running thin strips of painters tape along the line where the fins will attach so that all the filler and primer will go everywhere but there, but that's a random thought.

Thanks for your time, and again, I apologize for not being able to find a good answer elsewhere.

Paul
(Oklahoma City)

Hello all -

I'm a newbie to all this. returning to rocketry after about...38-40 years.

I am working on the classic "Big Bertha" and so far so good. After a lot of searching the forums I found plans for a simple fin alignment jig - a version of which I built this morning in under an hour from parts I had on hand. The next steps are to seal/sand the fins and tube, attach the fins, then paint.