5 or more stages

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mollwollfumble

Reaction score
I am a complete beginner in rocketry and this is my first post. One month ago I didn't know that Estes rockets came with igniters, so bought separate igniters, and didn't know that body tubes could be bought, so bought multiple motor retainers instead. I have just two launches, a kit rocket (Atomic Sky using C6-7) and a home-built 4-stage Estes C6 rocket.

In addition to the launches I've done tests on flammability and strength of glues and tapes, I did a 3-stage Estes C6 test in my garage by firing the rocket upside down with the body tube held by a retort stand and clamps, and I've been solving in a spreadsheet the differential equations for minimum fuel to given altitude.

I'm here on the forum looking for two things, the first is what someone else has tried (in the way of a diary or lab book) and how the trials went in the way of altitude etc. Traps for beginners to avoid. How to reliably attach fins. How to improve build quality. What works and what doesn't?