3D Printing Yet Another Switch Design

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

cwbullet

Obsessed with Rocketry
Staff member
Administrator
TRF Lifetime Supporter
TRF Supporter
Global Mod
Joined
Jan 24, 2009
Messages
28,953
Reaction score
6,520
Location
Glennville, GA
Ok, My son designed this after I gave him my specs. I wanted on that used 4-40 nuts and 4-40 - 1/2" screws. The final product is the last image. The demo one print wrong but you can use ti to visualize the nuts. I printed the print around the nuts (added them during the process.

Printed without wires soldered on:
IMG_1018.jpeg


Top of the switch without a screw:
IMG_1017.jpeg


Bottom of the switch:
IMG_1016.jpeg

The groves on the side are for the wires.

Final product:
IMG_1014.jpeg
 

cwbullet

Obsessed with Rocketry
Staff member
Administrator
TRF Lifetime Supporter
TRF Supporter
Global Mod
Joined
Jan 24, 2009
Messages
28,953
Reaction score
6,520
Location
Glennville, GA
I have at least 3 more potential types of switches. I love this stuff.
 

FMarvinS

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 27, 2015
Messages
508
Reaction score
121
Hey Chuck,

Looks cool and very practical, congrats!

Fred
 

cwbullet

Obsessed with Rocketry
Staff member
Administrator
TRF Lifetime Supporter
TRF Supporter
Global Mod
Joined
Jan 24, 2009
Messages
28,953
Reaction score
6,520
Location
Glennville, GA
I have the gcode if anyone is interested.
 

manixFan

Not a rocket scientist
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
2,421
Reaction score
1,589
Location
TX
Well done. So you pause the print and place the nut in the part and then continue? I've paused and continued prints with good results but only to check on dimensions or something similar. Do you just watch the print and pause it at the right time or do you modify the gcode to pause automatically? Really a neat idea.


Tony
 

cwbullet

Obsessed with Rocketry
Staff member
Administrator
TRF Lifetime Supporter
TRF Supporter
Global Mod
Joined
Jan 24, 2009
Messages
28,953
Reaction score
6,520
Location
Glennville, GA
Well done. So you pause the print and place the nut in the part and then continue? I've paused and continued prints with good results but only to check on dimensions or something similar. Do you just watch the print and pause it at the right time or do you modify the gcode to pause automatically? Really a neat idea.


Tony

That is exactly what I do. Start, pause, insert nut, restart, pause, insert nut, restart to completion of print. It is all done in the G code.
 

dr wogz

Fly caster
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
7,527
Reaction score
2,893
Location
Land of Poutine!
Chuck, I was thinking about this over the week-end.

Why not have your switch design in 3 parts. the two lower parts have a hex hole for the nut, and a channel for the wire. (and these two can be the same part) The top is rounded to fit a BT. Solder your wire to the nuts, drop them into their hole. Then, stack the parts and seam weld the pars with a soldering iron.. or glue. Might make for a neater design, easier to fabricate & such..
 

cwbullet

Obsessed with Rocketry
Staff member
Administrator
TRF Lifetime Supporter
TRF Supporter
Global Mod
Joined
Jan 24, 2009
Messages
28,953
Reaction score
6,520
Location
Glennville, GA
I will get my son working on it.
 
Last edited:

cwbullet

Obsessed with Rocketry
Staff member
Administrator
TRF Lifetime Supporter
TRF Supporter
Global Mod
Joined
Jan 24, 2009
Messages
28,953
Reaction score
6,520
Location
Glennville, GA
The first one is complete. I am working on an update that is printed in sections and glued together.

I am also working on another design.
 
Top