Wiring an RRC3 and a Featherweight to a single rotary switch

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi, wondering if anyone could share a picture/drawing of how I might wire the switches from an RRC3 and a Featherweight into a rotary switch like this (https://shop.gag.com/rotary-switch.html). I'm not very good with wiring diagrams (yet), so a simple drawing showing the leads from the boards to the posts on the rotary would be super helpful.

I'm not looking for redundancy here, more just wanting to experiment and gain experience with the basics of operating both units on the same flight.

Thanks much.

Hi, wondering if anyone could share a picture/drawing of how I might wire the switches from an RRC3 and a Featherweight into a rotary switch like this (https://shop.gag.com/rotary-switch.html). I'm not very good with wiring diagrams (yet), so a simple drawing showing the leads from the boards to the posts on the rotary would be super helpful.

I'm not looking for redundancy here, more just wanting to experiment and gain experience with the basics of operating both units on the same flight.

Thanks much.
There is no compelling reason to use a single switch to power both units. Use two of those types of switches, its done all the time:
https://www.missileworks.com/store/#!/RRC3-Dual-98mm-Modular-Sled-System/p/33422533/category=9045100Capture.JPG

Check these shurter rotary switches carefully as they have a stated lifetime of 300 uses and I have had them fail with less than 10, a voltage switch is normally set once and never touched again

Thanks much.
Is your Featherweight unit a Raven or a GPS Tracker?

Decided to use the factory switch on the Featherweight and installed a latching on/off switch for the RRC3. GoPro is housed on the opposite side of the bay.

Attachments

• 20221023_180700.jpg
    20221023_180700.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 0