Winter time launch

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hugues

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I am curious about winter launches. Here in Quebec, Canada we have a lot of frozen lakes offering great recovery space but the temperature could also drop to -15 celcius (5 fahrenheit).

Other than cold fingers and possible electronic/battery issues, what are in your opinion the biggest challenges for those launches ?

Also, I am no engineer, but will there be significant results discrepancy in term of flight speed and altitude ( better or worst ). The air must be different. How does it affect aerodynamics ?

Let us know your toughts on this.

Thank you

Definitely battery health, as you mention. Keep them warm in a vehicle right up till launch. Hopefully the LCO doesn't leave things sitting on the pads for long.

I had a rocket with redundant DD and motor back-up fail to deploy a drogue in very cold weather. Both alts were smashed, so I still don't know what caused it. Three charges armed, and no deployment. Lawn dart and carnage.

If you have mixed materials, like FG tubes and wood rings/plates, you might get different amounts of contraction, resulting in stuck couplers, etc. That may be what happened to me.

Aside from that, I don't think there is any impact in altitude or speed, as you asked.

Air's drier and thicker. Condensation can be an issue.

Some folks ( I've heard ) keep their motors and/or batteries in a baggie inside their coat.

Salut Hugues.

je pence on a parlez du club CRMRC!

• We fly in the winter. Apart form what's mentioned above, plastic 'Estes' type chutes can freeze 'closed' meaning they don't deploy as expected. (They stay rolled up)
  • The ground is usually harder, as it's frozen, so you run a better chance of breaking a fin on landing.