Wildman 5" Punisher Build Video Series

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

UPscaler

New Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Messages
4,278
Reaction score
221
dig it!

do you have an idea of what the final weight w/o motor will be? guessing 20 pounds "ish"
Probably somewhere in that range.

I'm still situating what parachute and electronics will be in it. Believe it or not I managed to lose a Missileworks RRC3 Sport, but I know I have it around somewhere. My constant commutes between my house and my parents' place with rocket parts opened up a black hole, evidently.

I'm trying to decide if I want to build the electronics bay to use the same sled as the 3" and 4" since I made those interchangeable. At the same time I'd like to be able to have more than one rocket ready to go at a time. Decisions, decisions.

Braden
 
Last edited:

crossfire

Lifetime Supporter
TRF Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
4,714
Reaction score
593
Here it is! The first flight. Aerotech M2050 Propellant X to 12,944 feet.


Braden
I have had good luck packing the most of shock cord in cone 1st than the chute. Some flyers hook chute to avbay bulk plate than it has to deploy
 

UPscaler

New Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Messages
4,278
Reaction score
221
I have had good luck packing the most of shock cord in cone 1st than the chute. Some flyers hook chute to avbay bulk plate than it has to deploy
Yeah, that's what I do, too. I've had luck with it on my 4", but my 3" and this one don't like to play along. I'll get it figured out. I guess it means I'll just have to fly it some more. I think I can live with that.

Braden
 

Tim51

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2015
Messages
970
Reaction score
249
Location
London, United Kingdom
I've had luck with it on my 4", but my 3" and this one don't like to play along.
Fwiw I've had deployment issues even with standard DD on the two 3" builds I've done. Fine when ground testing, different story in flight. It seems a tricky diameter to get right.

Great build, vids and flight anyway.
 

UPscaler

New Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Messages
4,278
Reaction score
221
I leave some length on the main ematch and charge and put it at the tip of the nose cone. Then the protected chute and shock cord. Never had a problem.
I've been considering this, I'll have to give it a shot.


Braden
 

UPscaler

New Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Messages
4,278
Reaction score
221
When you ground tested the main, was the chute in it?
Yep, though it wasn't packed very tightly as I was just trying to get the volume correct for testing. It was almost out on the actual flight as I took time to pack it small, but still didn't quite cut the mustard. It's honestly light enough that I could drop a foot on the chute size and it would still be around 25 FPS landing. A little quick, but not as quick as it was with only the drogue!

Braden
 
Top