Why does "GLOSS CLEAR" come out MATTE???!?!!

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BlueTrane2028

Reaction score
I've never done clear on a rocket before, figured I'd try. "Gloss" apparently means flat.

Guess I won't be doing that again...

How do you guys do it?

Also makes stickers jump out like a sore thumb. GRR! At least it was "only" a basic Nova Payloader (and I have 3 more unbuilt).

How long has paint been drying? High humidity sometimes fogs the clear.

and how heavy/thick were the coats?
i do it when the temps are in the 70's,humidity is low. light coat first coat then medium coat. allow clear to tack before next coat- i spray on some scrap where i can push my finger into it. i want to see my finger print without using much pressure.

Generally, I apply gloss clear in at least three coats. The first two are lightly misted on, waiting at least one minute between coats, and yes, they appear flat/matte at that point. The final coat goes on relatively heavy, since you've built up a layer of tacky clear coat for it to adhere to in order to minimize the chance of it running. It's this final, heavy coat that yields the gloss result.

Gloss is gloss....also specify what brand did you use. I have used Krylon, gloss and it is gloss. There is also hi-gloss., which I also used. And nothing wrong with matte. Not every rocket needs to be shiny

Generally, I apply gloss clear in at least three coats. The first two are lightly misted on, waiting at least one minute between coats, and yes, they appear flat/matte at that point. The final coat goes on relatively heavy, since you've built up a layer of tacky clear coat for it to adhere to in order to minimize the chance of it running. It's this final, heavy coat that yields the gloss result.