Where can I find decals?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
i use two basic types of inkjet decal paper; clear and white. clear for most stuff, white for some applications (but often would require precise trimming, which is dissuasive). thing with this stuff is you have to spray clear on top after printing else the ink will run and ruin your cool stuff. i've purchased semroc kits that have untreated inkjet decals. i scan all my kit's decals now prior to application just in case. i have no experience with laser printing of homemade decals.

For the Exocet, I used white background decal sheet. I used the magic brush in "paint.net" to change the background of the decal file to black and the foreground to clear. This invariably leaves a white border around the edge which I touch up with a black Sharpie. Sorry if I'm misunderstanding your

View attachment 544735

View attachment 544736

i use two basic types of inkjet decal paper; clear and white. clear for most stuff, white for some applications (but often would require precise trimming, which is dissuasive). thing with this stuff is you have to spray clear on top after printing else the ink will run and ruin your cool stuff. i've purchased semroc kits that have untreated inkjet decals. i scan all my kit's decals now prior to application just in case. i have no experience with laser printing of homemade decals.
Just so I’m understanding you @Pappy, are you saying that there is paper available where the filmy bit, which attaches to the rocket, is white by default and the pattern is printed around it? If so, that may solve my problem. I have an inkjet printer and I’ve printed ones with clear film, those required clearcoat as well. In fact, the clearcoat was a standard addition to this set so they’re just the tiniest bit more resilient.

And I’m guessing that this is what you described, @Ronz Rocketz ?