What did you do rocket wise today?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

rockladen

Active Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2019
Messages
41
Reaction score
57
Location
Austin, TX
Hah, Isn't it!

It's just I go late Saturday afternoons to the dealership shop after the techs leave. It has the perfect temperature and humidity and no dust flying around.
 

Old School Doug

Stan!! I told you....NEVER push the red button!
Joined
Apr 17, 2020
Messages
33
Reaction score
51
Location
Lake County, Illinois
Making several of the Apogee rocket plans using the Estes Designers Special. I lost the DC/SAM to a golf course today. I think it landed on the green. Haven’t decided if it’s worth asking for it back. I finally made some desk holders for my rockets. I’m getting so desperate with the winds that I don’t mind losing a few of my easier rockets.

Count me as a member of the lost DC Sam cub. 1st flight in 2 stage configuration with B6-0/B6-6. Launched well, weather-cocked a bit after 1st stage burnout and deployed the 56" long gold mylar streamer just fine. My son and I tracked it all the way down then proceeded to hunt for it in tall weeds for the better part of 45 minutes. I'm positive we were in the landing "zone" and probably walked past it several times while it was hiding in the weeds. 1st one lost since returning to the hobby so I'll count myself lucky.
 

mikewrt

I feel like a noob... again...
Joined
Dec 16, 2019
Messages
125
Reaction score
73
Location
Arizona
I flew my Hi-Tech today. I had to use 29/38 mm adapter for a G80. The launch went great. I was saving it for my L1 certification but I might use a different rocket. I haven’t decided yet.
If you don't mind me asking, where are you flying?
 

Five

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2020
Messages
50
Reaction score
43
If you don't mind me asking, where are you flying?
I don’t mind. Behind a high school. There are two soccer fields behind me with a bridge that connects to the school. Plenty of space to fly a rocket if that’s what your wondering. So you can get a better idea of how much space there is, here is a picture the day before flying my kite with my daughter.
 

Attachments

Five

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2020
Messages
50
Reaction score
43
I went to Michael's and purchased a couple wood dowels. I made a jig to hold my GFORCE airframe and posted pictures of this process under my GFORCE build thread. I also drill a few holes in the upper section to allow my altimeter to get readings when I fly it. Today may buy some more primer and start to primer the upper section.
How much will it affect the readings from the altimeter if you don’t drill the holes?
 

rharshberger

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2014
Messages
9,285
Reaction score
1,390
Location
Pasco, WA
How much will it affect the readings from the altimeter if you don’t drill the holes?
Depends on which altimeter, some are better than others, and some (many) dont work very well at all without static ports. A deployment altimeter with no static ports will almost always fail to fire ejection charges or even detect launch, some altitude only altimeters will figure the altitude based on ambient pressure at ground level then determine the altitude at ejection (not necessarily the actual apogee, but when it was exposed to the outside air at ejection. Its best to give an altimeter static ports for most accurate readings.
 

Five

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2020
Messages
50
Reaction score
43
I recently bought an Estes altimeter, I put a G80(38/29 mm adapter) in my HI-Tech with the altimeter tucked in the chute protecter. It gave me a reading 536’. Hmm I have doubts about that reading. Also on the drive up to the launch site the altimeter was turned on and gave that 10min drive a reading of 904’. Which I know is wrong, it was in my trunk the entire time. So I’m wondering if it’s because of a cheap altimeter, no ports, or both? I still have time to return the altimeter to a local hobby store and buy a better one online.
 

Greg Furtman

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
1,120
Reaction score
523
Location
Webster, Wisconsin
I recently bought an Estes altimeter, I put a G80(38/29 mm adapter) in my HI-Tech with the altimeter tucked in the chute protecter. It gave me a reading 536’. Hmm I have doubts about that reading. Also on the drive up to the launch site the altimeter was turned on and gave that 10min drive a reading of 904’. Which I know is wrong, it was in my trunk the entire time. So I’m wondering if it’s because of a cheap altimeter, no ports, or both? I still have time to return the altimeter to a local hobby store and buy a better one online.
My Estes altimeter died within a month after purchase. I went to a FlightSketch Mini when they were on sale last fall. Nice little unit and you can arm it I access data via Bluetooth & a smartphone.
 

mikewrt

I feel like a noob... again...
Joined
Dec 16, 2019
Messages
125
Reaction score
73
Location
Arizona
I don’t mind. Behind a high school. There are two soccer fields behind me with a bridge that connects to the school. Plenty of space to fly a rocket if that’s what your wondering. So you can get a better idea of how much space there is, here is a picture the day before flying my kite with my daughter.
Definitely looks like a nice field with plenty of open space! I wasn't very specific with my question, with the beautiful scenery in the background I was more wondering where on a map this is.
 

rharshberger

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2014
Messages
9,285
Reaction score
1,390
Location
Pasco, WA
I recently bought an Estes altimeter, I put a G80(38/29 mm adapter) in my HI-Tech with the altimeter tucked in the chute protecter. It gave me a reading 536’. Hmm I have doubts about that reading. Also on the drive up to the launch site the altimeter was turned on and gave that 10min drive a reading of 904’. Which I know is wrong, it was in my trunk the entire time. So I’m wondering if it’s because of a cheap altimeter, no ports, or both? I still have time to return the altimeter to a local hobby store and buy a better one online.
Estes Altimeters are known to be flaky about detecting launch, BEC here on TRF has had a fair amount of experience with them and iirc they need static ports to function. I would highly suggest a Flightsketch Mini or a Jolly Logic Altimeter 2 or 3 both those three are very reliable and will work in the same applications as the Estes Altimeter, they do however recommend having static ports.
 

rklapp

NAR# 291223
TRF Supporter
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
236
Reaction score
90
Location
Oahu, Hawaii
Mostly successful second attempt (yesterday) at attaching a camera. I wanted to add my Estes altimeter to the Nike but forgot (plus don't wish to drill ports into tube). With the wind lately, I'm not 100% confident with retrieval so will wait.

 

Five

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2020
Messages
50
Reaction score
43
Estes Altimeters are known to be flaky about detecting launch, BEC here on TRF has had a fair amount of experience with them and iirc they need static ports to function. I would highly suggest a Flightsketch Mini or a Jolly Logic Altimeter 2 or 3 both those three are very reliable and will work in the same applications as the Estes Altimeter, they do however recommend having static ports.
Thanks for the advice. I’ve been looking at the Jolly Logic 3. The GPS would come in handy because I like to use a larger parachute which causes the rocket to drift along way.
 

RocketT.Coyote

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
Messages
1,190
Reaction score
42
Applied another coat of white to first stage parts of my Boyce Aerospace Saturn I SA-5. Attempted to separate stages of my Estes Sasha unsuccessfully.
 

o1d_dude

'I battle gravity'
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
7,767
Reaction score
628
Location
Urff
Ordered a bunch of batteries and a charger/discharger. Batteries for the AV bay electronics and GPS, and charger to care for them. Also ordered a Lipo battery explosion/storage bag, too. (Amazon and HobbyKing).

Mounted the Estes 29mm motor retainer (Love those things!) on my clone PSII Panavia, cleaned up the rail button mounting holes drilled through body tube into backer blocks, cut an appropriate length of stainless pot scrubber mesh for the baffle, and dry stacked it all just because I like the design of that particular rocket.

@Big_Red_Daddy posed the question as to whether there was any interest in an upscaled clone of the Estes EAC Viper.

I told him to shut up and take my money.

First time I ever saw the Viper was when Captain Low and Slow (@qquake2k) brought his out to a launch and I have wanted one ever since.
 

Wally Ferrer

SRE
TRF Supporter
Joined
Apr 20, 2019
Messages
537
Reaction score
442
Location
Manassas, VA
@Big_Red_Daddy posed the question as to whether there was any interest in an upscaled clone of the Estes EAC Viper.

I told him to shut up and take my money.

First time I ever saw the Viper was when Captain Low and Slow (@qquake2k) brought his out to a launch and I have wanted one ever since.
So is he going to take your money? Our money? I'd be in for one as well...
 

o1d_dude

'I battle gravity'
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
7,767
Reaction score
628
Location
Urff
So is he going to take your money? Our money? I'd be in for one as well...
I’ll pass it on to him.

Given the response thus far on Facebook (“VanderBurn Users Group”) it’s highly likely this will happen.

There’s a lot of rocketry activity on Facebook (NAR, Tripoli, Unofficial NAR/Tripoli, Rocketry Fanatics, Model Rocketry USA, Rocketry Show, Rocketry of California, Lawn Dart Lounge, Sierra Rocketry, Sacramento Area Rocketry Group...and I’m sure I missed a few).
 
2
Top