CAD Software What CAD Program do You Design With

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DRAGON64

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
For the designers out there; what CAD software do you use (freeware, company provided software does not matter), to produce your designs?

I am fortunate enough to have access to SolidWorks full-time, but I have been exploring other means for design; maybe post up some useful featured programs available?

Neat idea for a thread. Well Played ;)

My CAD Monkey tool of choice is AutoCAD Inventor...

I've been using AutoCAD software since the 1980's. I used Solidworks for a couple years... but prefer Inventor.

LIFTING ROCKET 000.JPG Lifting Rocket Dwg Rev 8 Sheet 4 of 23.jpg

Creo 3 - PTC

I've gone thru the Autodesk suite as well, since the mid 90's: started on AutoCAD 9, then using the AME extension, them Mechanical Desktop (all versions) then onto Inventor, and finally, for the past 6 years, Pro-E / Creo.. We are due for the upgrade to Creo 5 soon..

Truth be told, I do like Inventor better. Easy, simple, well thought out. Creo is a bear, but extremely powerful!

OpenSCAD all the way. The only other programs I'd played with were SkecthUp and FreeCAD, but I'm a programmer by day, and really preferred being able to define my objects in code rather than having to draw anything. And I don't know how other programs work, but the constraint mechanism in FreeCAD totally drove me up the wall, if I had to make any changes to the lower-level objects things built on top of it would blow up in really unexpected ways.