Trouble with forum?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

rbeckey

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
1,560
Reaction score
26
I have been having a heck of a time with the forum in the last several days. Pages take forever to load, attempted posts hang and then give a page not found error until I page back and retry, and attempts to load thread to the newest post hang for a long time. I have Comcast cable at 2.7 + megabits per second. Anybody else having trouble? Is it just weather related internet trouble, too many members on at once, or is my machine having Gates Syndrome?

(NAV up to date, spyware/malware/adware scan daily, firewall in place)
 

rstaff3

Oddroc-eteer
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
11,763
Reaction score
22
I'm in Md and its fine (same Comcast service).
 

joepolicy

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 23, 2004
Messages
140
Reaction score
0
No problems here in Germany, page loads are quick and the information posted is superb as always!
 

brianc

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
3,242
Reaction score
4
The only thing I've noticed recently is some of the IM (online/offline) icons loading slowly. This is due to the slow response from the IM provider (AOL, yahoo, etc) not TRF.

What browser are you using and do you have it configured to render the pages as it has content (vs. waiting until all info is available)?

Other than that, I'm always willing to blame Mr. Gates. :)
 

Chuck Rudy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
Messages
829
Reaction score
0
Don't feed Willy Gates and don't use Comcast and all is well.
 

jrogers

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
498
Reaction score
0
Originally posted by Chuck Rudy
Don't feed Willy Gates and don't use Comcast and all is well.
Hmm, Comcast works wikked pissah for us Bostonians Chuck ;)
 

Chuck Rudy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
Messages
829
Reaction score
0
They just went through with the a high speed video line. Since the flagman looked bored I asked him if this was my DSL turbo line, he said yeah. But the line is also for high speed video and they will be offering the Dish Network through it......so goodbye Comcast and your part time cable. Odd how my phone line never goes down but cable is down at least once a month. We're gonna have to throw a party to burn the Comcast convertor.
 

Chuck Rudy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
Messages
829
Reaction score
0
Joel

Just talked to the guys installing the lines, we're gonna have the option of 5, 15 or 30 megabit transfer. Cable is 3, I can wait till November. But the video part has to go through legal stuff, like the inept cable company whining and complaining. So they figure that's a year away.

Chuck
 

Leo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Messages
1,909
Reaction score
224
Location
Germany
Originally posted by joepolicy
No problems here in Germany, page loads are quick and the information posted is superb as always!
What part off Germany are you from?

Nuernberg on my side :)
 

rabidsheeep

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
1,634
Reaction score
2
i did notice my internet slowing down but thats cause i stupidly downloaded icq from downloads.com so naturally theres spyware
 
Top