Transonic Effects on Paper Rockets . . .

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

markfsanderson

Model Rocketry Returnee ...
TRF Supporter
Reaction score
Greetings!
Although I'm a pilot (SEL VFR only) and understand the basics about transonic/sonic flight etc, I've no idea how it might apply to rockets and the materials they're made of. The basics, as I've read them are something like if you are going 'near' or will exceed the speed of sound, fiberglass, carbon fibre, nose cones with metal tips are all good. What's not as clear to me is the transonic region, let say from .65 mach to .90 mach . . . or maybe the lower end of that should be higher? Not sure. My question is: I've built a LOC/Precision HyperLoc 163 w/stickershock stickers on top of 5 or 6 light coats of enamel paint and will be finishing it up with 3 coats of clear enamel. There are some 29mm/180 AT motors that Apogee recommends that exceed .65 mach, and the I motor on that list (not recommended) exceeds mach 1. To that end, what is a paper rockets 'speed limit'? Is there a maximum of number of flights that at near mach that rocket can endure before it 'self destructs' or becomes too weak to fly? Can I safely fly this rocket w/an I (eye) motor and have some hope of recovering it intact? I believe the simulated speed is about 1.4 mach? But not sure. Any insight would be appreciated . . . Oh - I love the rocket . . . don't want it to disappear into a black hole, but am curious about the boundaries . . . .

Mark!

The transonic region starts at the speed where some airflow over the vehicle is supersonic, and ends when almost all airflow is now supersonic. This is highly dependent on geometry and airstream temperature, so its generally simplified to between M.8 and M1.2.