Top Coat over Krylon????

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

astronboy

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I have never used Krylon paints before. I grabbed a can recently, and just painted a base coat of gloss white on my Ranger clone's payload section. The sucker appears to be dry already!! I see that the can says to allow 1 hour before handling, and you can topcoat anytime... but franlky, I find this hard to believe.

How long should I wait before i mask of the nosecone and spray it red?

Phred

I wait at least 48 hours; I have tried putting Kylon flat black over Kryon gloss white after waiting just a day - the results were not pretty.

My $0.02

Originally posted by Vanel
I wait at least 48 hours; I have tried putting Kylon flat black over Kryon gloss white after waiting just a day - the results were not pretty.

My $0.02

It depends on where you allow your painted parts to dry. Here in sunny, warm Florida where temperatures in the garage can easily reach 120 degrees F, I have had very good results waiting as little as 16 hours between taping off & painting colors.

I use Krylon exclusively. You really can recoat anytime and parts can be *lightly* handled after 1 hour. If you don't wait long enough or handle it too roughly, you can press fingerprints into the finish. Give it a couple of hours (I prefer waiting at least overnight) before any serious handling though.

One last thing: The curing agents in Krylon's flat paints are quite different than what is used in their gloss colors. The flat paint "grabs" much faster & aggressively. I tend to stay away from the flats...or at least not mix them with any other colors.

HTH,

You probably can recoat any time, but it is a bad idea to mask areas off too early or the base color might peel off.