Thrustcurve Open Thread

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

teepot

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
1,102
Reaction score
676
Location
Pahrump, Nevada
Anybody not getting motor options. The rockets are there just no motor selection.
 

JohnCoker

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Apr 13, 2013
Messages
2,049
Reaction score
701
Anybody not getting motor options. The rockets are there just no motor selection.
Which page are you looking at?

Note that in the post before yours I mentioned that I'd removed an incomplete form and replaced it with a link to the regular entry point with all the newer features.
 

dhbarr

Amateur Professional
Joined
Jan 30, 2016
Messages
7,246
Reaction score
1,674

In "Motor Guide Results" the "Accel" column when clicked does not re-sort the table; all other columns function as expected.
 

teepot

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
1,102
Reaction score
676
Location
Pahrump, Nevada
Which page are you looking at?

Note that in the post before yours I mentioned that I'd removed an incomplete form and replaced it with a link to the regular entry point with all the newer features.
I click on a rocket in the rocket list. That takes me to possible motors. Where there used to be a submit button is now blank. So I can't see any motors for any rocket. I don't see a link on that page. The paragraph on the possible motors page says there are motors, but no motors appear.
 

teepot

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
1,102
Reaction score
676
Location
Pahrump, Nevada
So from the drop down under my stuff I pick my rockets. I get no motors going that way. But the secondary list up the right hand side is working like it has. The motors are there.
 

JohnCoker

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Apr 13, 2013
Messages
2,049
Reaction score
701
So from the drop down under my stuff I pick my rockets. I get no motors going that way. But the secondary list up the right hand side is working like it has. The motors are there.
Can you tell me the exact URL and what browser you are using?

Here's what I see when I am looking at a specific saved rocket. (Note that I've highlighted the new links.)
Screen Shot 2021-03-08 at 6.34.15 PM.png
 

teepot

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
1,102
Reaction score
676
Location
Pahrump, Nevada
Can you tell me the exact URL and what browser you are using?

Here's what I see when I am looking at a specific saved rocket. (Note that I've highlighted the new links.)
View attachment 454356
I'm using Chrome. Now that you have pointed it out I see it. When I was looking for a link I expected to see it in blue. The URL I have no idea.
 

JohnCoker

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Apr 13, 2013
Messages
2,049
Reaction score
701
I'm using Chrome. Now that you have pointed it out I see it. When I was looking for a link I expected to see it in blue. The URL I have no idea.
Got it; thanks.

With the Bootstrap theme for this site, all links are that dark red.

Just FYI, you can always find out the page you're viewing in the address bar at the top of the browser. This is the called the "URL":
Screen Shot 2021-03-09 at 7.47.50 AM.png
 

JohnCoker

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Apr 13, 2013
Messages
2,049
Reaction score
701
Since it was confusing, I have replaced the links with buttons. Hopefully this makes it easier to see what the natural options are.

Screen Shot 2021-03-09 at 9.40.33 AM.png
 

neil_w

Good at some things
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jul 14, 2015
Messages
11,700
Reaction score
4,499
Location
Northern NJ
Looks like thruscurve is down right now? Never mind it's back
 
Last edited:

JohnCoker

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Apr 13, 2013
Messages
2,049
Reaction score
701
thanks was able to get it working - was having some strange dns issues.
Interesting. MongoDB informed me there were changing their root certificates, but that isn't supposed to happen until May.

Hi John,

You are receiving this email because of an upcoming change to Let’s Encrypt, the Certificate Authority (CA) used by MongoDB Atlas to issue TLS certificates for all Atlas clusters. Atlas uses TLS to ensure that all network traffic to and from the cluster is encrypted.

Beginning on May 1, 2021, new TLS certificates created by MongoDB Atlas will have their root CA change from IdenTrust to ISRG in line with Let’s Encrypt’s announcement of this transition. Atlas clusters certificates are rotated every 90 days, so your cluster will move from the IdenTrust to the ISRG CA between May 1, 2021 and August 1, 2021, unless you choose to test your readiness ahead of time. The IdenTrust root CA will stop working with Let's Encrypt certificates on September 29, 2021, so all clusters will be upgraded to the ISRG root by then.
I don't use any special certificates, so I imagine there will be no impact, but who knows. Did you have issues resolving ThrustCurve.org or error pages once you were there?
 

Faroutspacenut

Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
184
Reaction score
13
Interesting. MongoDB informed me there were changing their root certificates, but that isn't supposed to happen until May.



I don't use any special certificates, so I imagine there will be no impact, but who knows. Did you have issues resolving ThrustCurve.org or error pages once you were there?
Hi John, not sure what was the deal. The site wouldn't open on any browser - was getting a DNS_PROBE_SINISHED_NXDOMAIN message. I just changed my network settings to 8.8.8.8 in the DNS field and it did the trick. Works great now. Thanks as always for this excellent resource.
 

heada

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
4,101
Reaction score
1,245
Location
Indianapolis, Indiana
On the "match a rocket" page, include a checkbox for clusters and then an option for number of mmt. Simple clusters, no mix in mmt size or different motors per mmt would be fairly easy.
 

JohnCoker

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Apr 13, 2013
Messages
2,049
Reaction score
701
On the "match a rocket" page, include a checkbox for clusters and then an option for number of mmt. Simple clusters, no mix in mmt size or different motors per mmt would be fairly easy.
When you enter a rocket (My Stuff), you can choose the number of MMTs. This will enable you to find motors for clusters. (As you say, all the same motor.)
I wanted to keep the quick form as simple as possible so it's not daunting to get started, but you're right I could add an MMT count there too.
 

neil_w

Good at some things
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jul 14, 2015
Messages
11,700
Reaction score
4,499
Location
Northern NJ
Some requests:
  1. Sometimes (often?) I neglect to save a rocket, close my tab, and then realize I wasn't finished. Can you auto-save the last entered rocket, and give the option to re-populate when I return to the site?
  2. When setting motor selection criteria, I'd love an option include motors that either match the motor mount size or are one size smaller (or more generally, a minimum size in addition to the match of the motor size). Currently I have to always do two separate searches, unless there's a way to do this that I'm unaware of
  3. The link to "show complete results" is kind of hidden underneath the table of results. I think it should be more prominent. It might even be nice to always show both successful and unsuccessful motors, in two separate tables. The unsuccessful results table could be collapsed by default, so it doesn't clog the page all the time, but it would be at easy access.
  4. Minor stuff:
    1. it would be nice to have a combo-box with a pull-down of common motor mount sizes.
    2. Right now the up/down arrows inside many of the fields increments/decrements by .001, which is kind of nonsensical for many of them.
 

Buckeye

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
2,710
Reaction score
526
Some requests:
  1. Sometimes (often?) I neglect to save a rocket, close my tab, and then realize I wasn't finished. Can you auto-save the last entered rocket, and give the option to re-populate when I return to the site?
  2. When setting motor selection criteria, I'd love an option include motors that either match the motor mount size or are one size smaller (or more generally, a minimum size in addition to the match of the motor size). Currently I have to always do two separate searches, unless there's a way to do this that I'm unaware of
  3. The link to "show complete results" is kind of hidden underneath the table of results. I think it should be more prominent. It might even be nice to always show both successful and unsuccessful motors, in two separate tables. The unsuccessful results table could be collapsed by default, so it doesn't clog the page all the time, but it would be at easy access.
  4. Minor stuff:
    1. it would be nice to have a combo-box with a pull-down of common motor mount sizes.
    2. Right now the up/down arrows inside many of the fields increments/decrements by .001, which is kind of nonsensical for many of them.
#2 Define a motor adapter
 

Mike Haberer

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
565
Reaction score
361
John - you rock! great add to the spreadsheet.

At the risk of asking for too much, one more add and my workflow in TC would be complete - multiple rail lengths. This is something I always wished I could do in Rocksim as well.

Generally, I find the rails at most launches (out here on the East Coast anyway) are either 6 feet or 8 feet. Rarely, you may see a 10 foot rail and that is usually in the out-cell for Level 3 motors.

So, I have been running the sim twice - once with a 6 foot rail guide and then again with an 8 foot rail guide. Then I cut and paste the 6 foot velocities into the sheet with the 8 foot velocities in a separate column next to the 8 foot velocities. Then, I delete the motors that are slow off the 8 foot guide (you know if it is slow off the longer rail, it won't work on the shorter rail either). Then I use conditional formatting to color code the motors that are slow off the 6 foot rail.

At the field there are almost always more short rails than long ones, so it is good to know which rail length you need at a glance.

If there was a way to run the sim with 2 rail lengths and have the exported sheet note which rails were good, that would cut the above workflow down by about 75%.

For example, here is the spreadsheet I would use at the field for my Widman 4" Darkstar (note, I have not re-created it using the recovery weight column you just added):
Because launch rails can be different lengths, I'm prepared when I go to a launch. I have 1 4' and 1 6' foot 1010 rails that I can add to a club rail if I need a longer rail when I setup the rocket at the pad, so I just run the sim until I get the length I need and note that in my prelaunch checklist.
 

JohnCoker

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Apr 13, 2013
Messages
2,049
Reaction score
701
Because launch rails can be different lengths, I'm prepared when I go to a launch. I have 1 4' and 1 6' foot 1010 rails that I can add to a club rail if I need a longer rail when I setup the rocket at the pad, so I just run the sim until I get the length I need and note that in my prelaunch checklist.
Maybe more useful would be a "min guide length" field in the results? I can't think of a way to have multiple guide lengths without getting awkward. In your case you would always enter the max for the guide length and the results would tell you what the needed guide was.

Note that "guide length" is a bit fuzzy because what it really means is "supported distance". This ends up being the length from the forward button/lug to the tip of the rail/rod.
 

JohnCoker

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Apr 13, 2013
Messages
2,049
Reaction score
701
OK, I changed the MMT diameter to be a combo box in the quick entry and in editing a rocket. Also there are buttons at the top of the summary results to the complete results and spreadsheet. (All links are still at the bottom as well.)
 
Top